In any field, beginners are more likely to make a significant contribution to the field than experts.

The statement states that in any field, beginers are more likely to make a significant contribution to the field than experts. This statement is inherently dichotomous, as it is not always beginners or always experts who make an important contribution to the field. It depends on various factors, and thus,the statement may or may not hold for the given set of circumstances. But in general, I tend to disagree with the general idea of the statement.

Predicting weather a person would make an important contribution to their field is highly complex and does not solely depend on just one or two rigidly fixed criteria. It is very much dependent on the previous education of that person in the concerned field, and also on other non-technical factors like innovative thinking, economic management of available resources, ability to cope woth stress, and in part, on the natural temperament for the field. If a person holds these qualities, it does not matter weather that person is a beginner or an expert; he/she is likely to make a significant contribution to the field. A good example of this is mathematician Ramanujan, who from his early years in the field had made a tremendous contributions. The equations proposed by him are even in use today for several applications.

But as a general rule, apart from the knowledge of the field, even that in many cases, all other qulities are gained by experience; by working in that field for several years. Thus, experienced people are who are experts in the field will be more likely to posses these qualities and thus would be more likely to make an important contribution in the field. Several examples can be given for this such as scientists like Davy and Einstine, who had to work in the field for several years to gain deeper knowledge and propoer understanding before they can make a significant contribution.

However, an important aspect of making significant controbution is innovative thinking. People who have been working in the field for many years may overlook some fundamental assumptions in the field which they may take for granted in their work. In such a case, a fresh outlook is often essential to set the field on the right tracks, and unsurprisingly it comes form a beginner in the field as they come unprejudised and can view critically some of the most established conceptions of the field which experts may have taken for granted.

Thus in conclusion, though I belive that experts are more likely to make significant contribution in any field, it is not a hard and fast rule, and there may be exceptions.