In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Leaders are the most important asset in any of the organizations, be it a political body private firm or education institute. In some countries we see presidential tenure is restricted to only for some years, but this type of limit is not visible in any other field. The prompt recommends that people who are making decisions should be required to step down after five years irrespective of their field. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion for the following reasons.

To begin, ‘Don’t change something until it is broken’ this is the fundamental rule followed by the football coaches. Similarly it is not advisable to change the leader when he is doing a good job. There are many executives like Warren Buffett,Jeff Bezoz and mark zuckerberg who are synonymous with their company names. It is unimaginable to see these companies without them. For example, When Steve jobs is fired from Apple, it slips into a period of mediocrity and later rehires him to clean the mess created by previous leadership.

Further, It is very difficult for the leader to implement and see the results within a five years period timeline. For instance, In the drug manufacturing industry it takes years to research the disease, later companies develop a drug and put this into a series of trials to see efficacy and safety before releasing it into the market. So changing leadership might jeopardize the whole project.

Some might argue this rule might prevent bad leaders holding power for too long, However it shouldn't be a problem as long as there is a system to take opinion of all the people involved and do necessary actions if required.

I like to conclude that leaders are the one the most important and hardest role in any of the organization. So to impose restrictions on their tenure will ultimately affect the the company or the society(in case of government) in the long term.