Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In democratic society policy making, its execution and modifications are left to the subject expertise and politicians elected by the people. Therefore the prompt recommends that the general public should be eliminated in these decision making. In my opinion, I agree to this suggestion for some extent due to the following reasons.

To begin, There is a famous quote “Government is for the people, by the people and to the people”. Regarding any subject every individual has a different opinion and perspective. So involving the general public in these decision making leads to bedlam. For example, Unemployed people might be feeling positive regarding development of factories in their region whereas some farmers might feel scared of losing their lands. So involving these people only raises hatred and protests among themselves.

Further, The government officers are subject expertise and Politicians are the representatives of the people, so any decision made by them is for the betterment of their country. Some decisions might harm some sections of people but it might be good for the future in the long run. For instance, Decision to ban coal mines might impact several workers' lives but it might reduce the environmental damage it is causing.

Some information might be sensitive. Especially regarding military decisions ,These information should not be divulged to any individuals outside of the department. For instance, US military operation to assassinate osama bin laden is a secret mission and can not be informed to the public prior.

Some might argue that politicians can be corrupted and make biased decisions, It is true but their next tenure will be dependent on their decisions and people might not elect next time if there is any such allegation. Justice might be delayed but it can not be annihilated.