In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Evolution is a part of every human endeavor, so is the case with any fields of endeavor. Every field evolves with passing time. New technologies or new developments make past achievements either redundant or just another stepping stone enabling the former.

But that does not mean past achievements are to be ignored. A new contribution might have been inspired by a past achievement. Past achievements are like milestones or indicators which act as catalysts towards achieving even better things. People learn a lot from past achievements: good and bad, pros and cons. For example, had internet not been invented in the 1990s we would not be having social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, etc. IN this particular case, internet acted as an enabler for better technologies and ideas to take shape utilizing the former’s inherent power. But internet still exists. On the other hand, landline telephones are almost obsolete today giving way to mobile phones. Had there been no landline telephones, would we be enjoying the benefits of mobile phones? This example shows that though a past achievement is not in vogue anymore that very achievement laid a foundation to achieve something better.

In contrast, some past achievements might not be so useful in our current contributions. There may be some gray areas left in those achievements which need new approaches and new inspirations. Utilization of coal to generate electricity, though happening even today, is a very outdated idea in this modern world; because, the world is trying to move towards greener alternatives. In such a scenario, research in developing alternative models would be helpful.

So to sum up past achievements can be helpful in inspiring and learning from past mistakes alike towards better endeavors.