In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is axiomatic that improvement in various fields of science has been playing a pivotal role in the development of all societies. An unavoidable question which has always been a controversial topic and has provoked heated debates is whether it is impossible to make a considerable impact on any field of endeavor without first being strongly affected by past achievements within that field. Whether one agrees or disagrees depends on the lens through which one is looking. Both adherents and opponents provide substantial reasons for the option they support. So far as I am concerned, I contend that achievements and experiences within a particular field are the backbones of future investigations and significant innovations. To shed light on my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most important reasons.

The first focal point that prompts me to hold this idea is that past achievements within a field could be inspiring for most of the future new ideas. It is no secret that nowadays most of the fields of study are complicated, and finding a new subject for research is not easy for everyone except professionals who have a great background in that special field. Therefore, having huge information about past achievements within a field helps scientists to have a broader perspective about that field, so this wide sight would help them through their future innovations to make a significant contribution to that field. Also, if researchers get influenced by past achievements, it would help them to do their researches more time effective and more accurate because, under this circumstances, researchers are aware of all lacks and faults of past researches, so they will not repeat the past mistakes, and they will get to their answer faster. For the purpose of illustration, when great scientists of chemistry tried to develop an atomic model, they looked into the past achievements and results, and then they compared the past models with the real behavior of subatomic particles. Hence, they understood the lacks and faults of the previous models, and owing to this information about past results, they could easily use their knowledge to establish a new atomic model, which was precisely in accord with real atomic behavior. So, the more information about past achievements, the more success in significant innovations.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance on this issue is that information is the key point of success in any field of study or profession. It is crystal clear that nowadays professions and companies related to specific fields of science are very competitive, and significant contribution belongs to the company which has collected more data about previous achievements, and has made better products because limited knowledge will stop the other managers and professionals from thinking wider and more profound about their work. Moreover, if startups get influenced by past achievements, their products would be more reliable for sponsors who seek to contribute in profitable businesses because not only would this information help the startups to improve past achievements and make new significant ideas, but also it can provide them the knowledge to analyze other companies’ products. By means of this information about past achievements, companies and startups can find weaknesses and strengths of others’ products, so they would win the competition easily, and make a significant contribution in that field.

To make a long story short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it is impossible to make a significant impact on any field of endeavor without first being influenced by past achievements within that field because past achievements are inspiring for the scientist to define a new subject for their researches. Also, having information about past works will make future investigations more time effective. Furthermore, being influenced by past achievements can help professionals, companies, or startups to improve their ideas and products, and their business would thrive by analyzing others’ products to make a significant contribution to that field.