Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Successful leaders tend to analyse the opinions thoroughly before supporting them. Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion is considered callow and has an image of not being able to take own's stand. For several reasons these leaders accomplish much less than they could have.

To begin with, Frequently changing decisions hinder growth in any sector. As, before any implementation of previous decision is complemented, introducing new change results in loss in terms of cost, time and labor.

Moreover, people's reliability in judgement of leaders is lost if they keep changing their mind, which in turn results in abject failure. Mercurial attitude thus leads to the demise of trust, which public has incorporated in any leader.

Additionally, people's illusion of leader's ability of having clear goals and determined plan is effaced. In-determination leads to vague attempts at alleviating the exacerbated problems of citizens. Take for an example, In North Korea, there is a rife paucity of education ,food and basic needs life, but the leader's misapprehension of pursuing greatness in capabilities of war attracts censure internationally.

However, there are circumstances when sagacious leaders have to consider popular opinions which change frequently. If the changes address imminent critical issues, then the leaders accumulate accolades instead of censure.Take for an example, the changes in Reserve Bank Of India's (RBI) policies during recent demonetization, almost around 90 mandates were issued during a period of 50 days depending on feedback from consensus to address the problems of cash crunch. Frequent changes in policies were severely criticized but the prime minister, Mr.Narendra Modi was categorically supported by the citizens.

Conclusively, sage decisions need patience and profound brainstorming before approaching any conclusion. Only then a leader can hope to be appreciated for his work. Merely following the will of influential factors does not pave the path to success for anyone.