In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The role that discussion has in the advancement of a field is undeniable, this is why there are many conferences every year in different fields. However, what makes a discussion productive? Is it the sharing of ideas between people with the same perspectives? Or is there a need for a “devil’s advocate” to propel the discussion towards productivity? The prompt suggests that there is a need to have contrasting views for a discussion to be productive. In my opinion, this is a complex situation that requires thorough analysis, I will be providing my view on this issue in three paragraphs.

The quality of any discussion is dependent on the individuals involved in the discussion. Regardless of the topic of the conversation, often productive conversations are held by people that are knowledgeable about the topic. For instance, a conversation about the theory of relativity that is being discussed by footballers might not hold as much relevance as when it is discussed by physicists. In the same vein, if a group of artists are discussing about the relevance of the intensity of brush strokes to the depiction of objects in a painting and a dentist comes up with a contrasting view without any art background knowledge, his view will likely be inconsequential to the development of knowledge in that field. Hence, the quality of the opposing idea is very necessary when evaluating the importance of contrasting views to progress in a field.

Furthermore, for contrasting views to be play a paramount role in progress, it is necessary that the parties involved are receptive of opposing views. While contrasting views are very important to the formation of the exquisite ideas and strategies, it can also lead to rancor. In situations where the participants of a discussion are not receptive of opposing views, rather than leading to progress, opposing views will lead to fights which will hinder progress. If a group of people who have different views of a topic hold a discussion, it will only be effective if everyone in the group is freely allowed to express their opinions without fear of physical harm, harassments or abuse. In addition, they must also be willing to objectively evaluate the value of the opposing view. If all these are not present, then the discussion would most likely be futile.

The important of contrasting views to the progress of a discussion cannot be underestimated. In the House of Representatives and the Senate House of any nation, debates about laws are held by people with contrasting views, these views often help to create inclusion and relevance to a law before it can be passed. If these discussions are held by people with the same mindset, people who disagree with these mindset will be ostracized and maligned in society which is against the ethos of government. Similarly, in the scientific community, it is not uncommon to see professors who have contrasting views on a topic engage themselves in a panel discussion in order to evaluate the validity of the opposing view. Often times this leads to the birth of better ideas and inventions. Therefore, contrasting views often have positive effects on discussions, however, as stated above, it is not absolute and can be relative to the situation it is applied in.

In conclusion, the importance of contradictory views to the progress of a matter is a complex one. On the base level, it can be concluded that it is essential, however, the range of human interaction is often more complex.