A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The results of a twenty-year study that was recently published suggests that there is a correlation between the rise in commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches in Mentia. These results has spurred health experts to predict that with the likely possibility of a further increase in the use of Salicylates as a food preservative, there will be a further decline in the average number of headaches. However, there are three questions that need to be considered before there can be a conclusion that Mentia residents will suffer less headaches in the future as a result of Salicylates as a food preservative.

Firstly, what is the assurance that Salicylates actually causes a reduction in headaches? Is it possible that despite being of the same chemical family of aspirins does not actually have the same effects on human beings? For example, ethanol and methanol are both of the hydrocarbon family, however, while ethanol can be used to prepare performs, methanol should never be used in such a process as it is harmful to the human skin. Therefore, is it not possible that Salicylates and aspirin have different effects on the human body and such should not be used interchangeably? If this is true, then the study and prediction are faulty. A scientific research should be done to substantiate the effects of Salicylates on the human body.

Also, even if Salicylates can be used to cure headaches in the human body, are we sure that it still holds this property when it is used as a food preservative? The passage states that many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, however, it would seem that they have not been effective as headache curers in that natural state, hence, what study has been undertaken to prove that Salicylates when used as a food preservative can offer medical relieve to headaches? If there is no evidence to back up this claim, it is possible that the health experts have predicted too hastily.

Finally, is it not possible that the foods that the food processing companies want to use Salicylates as a preservative are not popularly eaten in Mentia? If that is true, would that mean that an increase in the use of Salicylates as a food preservative would have a marginal effect on the Mentia residents? The author of this study fails to adequately inform us of data that considers this possibility, hence, if this stands true, then the conclusion that there will be a decline in headaches in Mentia due to an increase in Salicylates’ usage as a preservative is faulty.

Conclusively, the prediction and argument of this passage is considerably flawed as it is based on some unsubstantiated assumptions. Therefore, for this passage to hold true, these assumptions have to be researched methodologically through a scientific process. The questions in this passage have to be researched upon before a proper evaluation of the prediction can be done.