As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the years, Man has been able to decipher many complexities of the universe, however, it seems that the more we probe the harder it is for us to understand the universe. The apothegm “ignorance Is bliss” sometimes comes to mind when we are faced with the challenges of understanding our environment. The topic of discussion is, does knowledge make things vaguer than ignorance? In three paragraphs, I am going to explain my stance on this topic.

Man would not have reached the astronomical heights of innovation displayed today without knowledge. There is a large contrast between the standard of living of Man from the Stone Age and today. For instance, the transportation sector has developed from foot travel to animal driven carts to cars today. All these would not have been possible if we did not seek knowledge about mechanical pistons and combustion engines. It would have been heresy many centuries ago if a scientist had said that one day Man will be using cars. However, today we see cars as a norm rather than an aberration. In fact, more innovation is ongoing in this field as we are trying to study the implementation of electric cars. Hence, knowledge leads to comprehension of a field which in turn leads to innovation in that field.

Without knowledge, many diseases that are now clear and curable would have remained a mystery. For example, small pox was once regarded as a death sentence, in fact, in the late 1800s, once someone has small pox, a funeral would be in motion. In contrast, today, due to the knowledge we have about the disease, it is less complex and easier to cure. Knowledge has led to the solution of many medical mysteries. Its impact on the improvement of medical care on humans is tremendous. Without it, medicine would be more complex and incomprehensible.

One might argue that the more knowledge we seek the more problems we are creating for ourselves. For instance, industrial revolution led to the depletion of the ozone layer which is causing climate change today. If we have not sought out how to make trains and cars, we would not be experiencing climate change effects today. However, if we critically examine the problems that knowledge has created, we would notice that the problem is not knowledge but the application of it. Humans have a tendency to implement knowledge for selfish reasons rather than for the goodwill of society. For instance, nuclear energy was once touted to be revolutionary to the development of energy sector, however, the first application of the nuclear power was in the decimation of Hiroshima for war purposes, and this led to the release of toxic chemicals into the atmosphere. If we evaluate this event, would we conclude that knowledge is at fault? Rather we would say that the application of knowledge by humans is what causes complications.

In conclusion, while we will always experience problems and the discovery of more complex theories. Knowledge in general is beneficial and leads to the comprehension of a field rather than the confusion of it. As the life of many depend on knowledge, it is profitable to dissect challenges faced today.