Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is a very important issue to any government, as it is the bedrock of progress in any nation. Hence, there has been a lot of discussion about what methods can be used to encourage college and university attendance in different communities. The prompt suggests that governments should offer free college and / or university education to all students. To this, I agree with some exceptions and I will expatiate in my reasons in three paragraphs.

Desmond Tutu once said that a good education is the bedrock of an inclusive and equitable society. Usually, the cost of quality college / university education is beyond the reach of people from low-income backgrounds. Thus this serves as a barrier that prevents individuals from these backgrounds from accessing quality education. The implication of this causes an unfair disadvantage to these individuals because many times, high paying jobs require college education. It also creates a self-perpetuating chain of events where individuals from poor backgrounds do not get a chance at quality education thereby increasing their chances of becoming poor like their parents. Hence, if there is a provision for free education in colleges and universities by the government, there will be a more equitable society and thus, a better standard of living will be reached in the society.

Obafemi Awolowo, a Nigerian politician once said that the children of poor backgrounds that we fail to educate today will one day rob our children that we have given the best education. In countries like the United States of America, where colleges and universities have high tuitions for enrolment, we often see high crime rates in their poor communities. While in countries like Germany, where there is free education in public universities and colleges, there is a lower crime rate overall. Although, the high tuition of their educational systems might not be the only contributors to this phenomenon, it is a significant factor. Hence, for the overall wellbeing of the society, it would be beneficial for the government to offer free education to all.

Some might argue that it is uneconomical to provide quality and free education to all students at college and university levels. While I agree that it is uneconomical to provide free education to all, I believe that it is possible to provide free education to a large number of students who pass a predetermined criteria such as academic excellence, financial background, and so on. In countries like Norway, while there might not be free education for all, all students who are able to pass the entrance exams of colleges or who have displayed academic sagacity are fully funded. Hence, it is possible, although it might require higher taxes or reshuffling of the nation’s budget but it is possible. And, for me, there is no better investment than an investment into the education of a nation’s citizens. Therefore, I believe governments should offer free education at college and university levels.

In conclusion, this topic is a pertinent issue that should be discussed extensively. But if the rewards to providing free education to all students outweigh the bad, why can’t we adopt this in our educational system? We all know that more people would be encouraged to study to college levels if there is an incentive of free education, I believe this would be a good step forward for any nation.