The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are over 200 countries in the world today. With this huge amount of nations, how can we determine the great ones from the ones that are struggling? There is a debate about what metric should be used to determine great nations. Is it how well the nation caters for its citizens or is it the giant strides the nation’s citizens make in different facets of life? The prompt suggests that the surest indicator of a great nation is by the general welfare of the people and not by the achievements of its citizens. To this, I agree and I am going to expatiate my reasons in three paragraphs.

Firstly, the fundamental duty of any nation is to provide for the welfare of its citizens. The reason why governments were created in the first place is to create a body that will pull the resources of the people and channel it towards the provision of an acceptable level of quality of life. Hence, if any nations fails in its primary duty of providing for its citizens, how can we call such a nation a great nation? The effects of not fulfilling the primary duty of ensuring the general welfare of the people is rippling. For instance, if a government does not provide adequate educational welfare for its citizens, it will lead to a rot in the society as brilliant minds will become mediocre and will be unable to contribute to the advancement of the nation which will eventually lead to the collapse of the nation. Hence, we can infer that if a nation does not provide for the general welfare of its people, then they cannot be great.

It was recorded that during the pinnacle of the Roman Empire, cities around the world always feared the citizens of the Roman Empire because they knew that their government cared about the welfare of every citizen of the Roman Empire. In fact, it is said that if a Roman citizen was physically hurt by any city, the city could be invaded by the Roman army and questioned for their actions. Such was the length at which the Roman Empire cared for the welfare of her citizens. Knowing this, we can infer that the strength of the Roman Empire was not the only factor that made the empire great as they were not the only nation known for their prowess in battle, but the length at which they were willing to ensure the general welfare of their citizens was distinguishing. Therefore, a nation can only be considered great by both her citizens and the outside world when it is evident that she cares for her citizens. In today’s world, nations like the United States of America have infiltrated many foreign bases with Special Forces to rescue a distressed citizen, this is why they are considered one of the greats today.

While some might argue that great nations in history have all been remembered by the exploits their citizens. For instance, the Greek empire is remembered by the sagacity of its citizens such as Archimedes, Aristotle and a host of other scholars. However, will these individuals have reached the heights they reached if they were running for their lives as a result of insecurity in the land? Will they have been able to think of the great principles they discovered if they were plagued by hunger? If the welfare of the people are taken care of, there will be room for outstanding performances by the citizens. The greatest nations have exemplary citizens because they provide for the general welfare of their citizens.

In conclusion, when a nation provides for the general welfare of her citizens, it leads to display of distinction in different fields. Therefore, the bench mark for a great nation should be how well she is providing for the general welfare of her citizens as it is the catalyst that leads to achievements. No matter how many achievements are won by the citizens of a nation, if the nation is not habitable because of poor welfare, the nation is a failed state.