As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the years, Man has been able to decipher many complexities of the universe, however, it seems that the more we probe the harder it is for us to understand the universe. The apothegm “ignorance is bliss” sometimes comes to mind when we are faced with the challenges of understanding our environment. The topic of discussion is, what is the impact of knowledge, opacity or clarity? In my opinion, I believe that knowledge bring clarity and simplicity. To solve a problem, you must first know about understand it. In three paragraphs, I am going to expatiate on my points.

Life is complex, knowledge is what brings clarity to it. The complexities of nature have always been in existence, solar systems did not just start existing when Man became aware of them. With or without knowledge, the reality is that the workings of the universe are complex. For instance, the water cycle – one of the most essential system for man’s survival on earth – involves some complex considerations such as ground water hydrology, photosynthesis and so on. Man’s understanding of these events did not lead to their initiation. Hence, it is not knowledge that is making the universe

complex, rather the universe has always been intricate and mysterious.

Furthermore, the discovery and understanding of many processes have led to the comprehension of different aspects of human life. An essential example can be made in medicine, there was a time when small pox was considered to be a terminal disease, in fact, it was regarded as a death sentence in many communities in the late 1800s. However, today, small pox is not even regarded as a complex disease. This change in events was only possible because of the improved clarity of the disease that knowledge has given Man. Without it, small pox will have remained opaque to the medical community and in turn will have led to the death of billions.

Lastly, Man is a curious being, he will always find a way to explain events around him as often times they are essential to his daily living. For instance, many cultures due to ignorance used to the occurrence of rain to the joy of a deity. However, due to our improved knowledge about the mechanism through which rain falls, there are places where rain is stimulated. Without knowledge, people would erroneously conclude for themselves the reasons for certain events. In this sense, we can see that knowledge plays a role of clarity rather than confusion. Without it, people would jump into conclusions and would confuse themselves even further.

In conclusion, although it might seem that with more knowledge we are uncovering more problems, however, it is pertinent to note that the complexity of the problem is often times the reason for this. A life of ignorance is only beneficial ephemerally, in the long run, knowledge would be needed to provide clarity.