The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company, it was stated it will be unwise for the company to construct new generating plants because of the projected decrease in energy demands from home owners in the community. The planning department however fails to provide adequate evidence to validate their conclusion, a lot of their considerations were made on unsubstantiated assumptions. In this essay, I will list three questions that need to be answered before the planning department’s argument can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, is it not possible that the amount of home owners that are willing to adopt the new technologies for energy efficiency are insignificant? In the argument stated above, there was no consideration into the number of home owners within the community that are willing to buy new and more energy efficient appliances, it is possible that the number of home owners that will be migrate to the more energy efficient appliances might be insignificant when they are compared to the ones who would not. Hence, if this is the case, the argument of the planning department will become significantly compromised.

In addition, the planning department does not mention the capability of the present electric generating plants to meet with the possible change in energy demands. Is it not possible that the new trend of energy demands would require modern energy supply requirements? Is it not also possible that a twenty year old electric generating plant might not be able to meet these modern energy supply requirements? There needs to be more evaluation into the effectiveness of the existing electric generating plants to provide electricity to cater for the present energy demands. If the electric generating plants cannot meet with the requirements needed for the new technologies, then the planning department’s argument becomes significantly flawed.

Furthermore, the planning department’s does not provide any evidence to state that the electric generating plants that have been in existence for more than twenty years will be able to function further for a long period of time. Is it not possible that these electric generating plants will soon stop functioning because of age? Will some rehabilitation not be needed in these plants to ensure that they can function for more years? How long more can they work for? Will they stop working five years down the road or is it two years? These are pertinent questions that the planning department does not answer in the above stated argument. As a result, their argument is poorly evaluated, if there is any deviation from their assumptions when this is investigated, then their argument requires significant modifications.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands requires a lot of modifications. The planning department needs to undergo a scientific process in their evaluation of the benefits and demerits of building new electric generating plants before the situation can be properly evaluated.