Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is often times pivotal to the success of an individual. Many times the quality of an education determines the level of success one can achieve, however, there are some other factors that often play a part to the success of an individual. One major one is the nature of course studied. In today’s world, it is not uncommon to see successful doctors or lawyers making over a million dollars a year. Hence, there is a debate ongoing, the crux of the debate is, should schools discourage students from studying non-lucrative courses or should they push them towards courses where the probability is high. In my opinion, I believe it would be erroneous to implement an educational policy that pushes students towards perceived lucrative courses. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in three paragraphs.

Firstly, the mercurial nature of the job market makes it such that a course that is lucrative today might not be lucrative tomorrow. In the 1900s, nuclear engineering was considered to be a rising field, and nuclear engineers were paid premium wages for their services. However, nuclear engineering has declined tremendously since then and today, many nuclear engineers have had to migrate from this course towards adjoining courses. Also, people who were in the tertiary institution studying nuclear engineering had to find other majors or disciplines during their undergraduate study which made a lot of them spend extra years in school. If we examine this example, we would see that there would be a massive consequence if a policy that prods students towards lucrative careers is implemented. Many would be left frustrated when their course becomes less lucrative.

Furthermore, not every student has the strengths required to study certain courses. For instance, a student who is gifted in the arts would most likely not be able to cope with the technical rigidity and rigour involved in studying engineering. Hence, pushing such a student towards an engineering course because it is more lucrative would create a situation where the student would become disinterested in school altogether. This would rob the world of exceptional individuals that could have existed if they were not forced into lucrative fields. Imagine a world where Picasso was forced to study medicine or law or engineering, the world would have been robbed of an artistic genius.

In addition, it would probably lead to an increase in the number of incompetent and unhappy professionals in lucrative fields. Some studies have proven that people generally perform better at jobs they are interested or passionate about. If happiness is pivotal to the performance output of individuals at jobs, should we not encourage people to pursue their passion(s), rather than what the world feels is lucrative?

In conclusion, while many argue that at the end of the day, the aim of a job is to put food on our tables. Hence, education should drive people towards careers that are more likely to provide for our needs. However, there have been many cases where people in “less lucrative” fields have made millions and people in “more lucrative” fields have ended up impoverished. Therefore, what metrics are we going to use to determine which student will end up on which side of prosperity? If we cannot determine with absolute certainty that a student will be successful if he chooses a particular course, then this policy will be a futile effort.