As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The development of technology has led to the exponential growth of many sectors in human civilization. It also brought about unprecedented ease to many of the activities of man. However, many people argue that this ease that technology brings is at the expense of the critical thinking ability of man. Essentially, they are saying that as Man relies more on technology, He is getting dumber. I tend to disagree with this stance, I am going to explain why in three paragraphs.

People argue that technological introductions such as social media, have led to the spread of many disingenuous facts and figures. They believe this is as a result of Man’s reliance on technology; “People simply gulp whatever technology tells them is true”. However, there is an irony in this position. In the 1800s it was commonly believed that the earth was flat, many people violently held on this fact, that even when it was challenged by Galileo, it was considered heresy. False information has always been in play since the beginning of mankind, while it might be easier to spread due to technology, the spread of credible information is also boosted by technology. Hence, human beings have always fallen prey to false information, this is not due to technology. However, technology now provides an easier way for people to confirm if they are making erroneous assumptions or are depending on false facts by simply pressing a few button on any search engine. In this case, can’t we say technology is bringing more information to the common man, unlike when technology was absent? Information is no longer only for scholars as was in the day of the Greeks but all and sundry. Hence, technology is not making man unable to think for themselves, rather it is giving all the resources to think for themselves.

Some might say that the ease of technology has taken away the ability of Man to think about simple things as everything is being done by machines now. For example, simple tasks such as arithmetic are now being done by computers, so many students cannot even add numbers without looking for a calculator, thereby reducing the sharpness of their brains to quickly work with numbers in the absence of calculators. But the question is, who makes these computers? Human beings are the entities behind the codes that run these computers. In fact, many times the complexity involved in the creation of some of this computers can be intimidating to the common man. Hence, while I agree that technology might have influenced the ability of Man to do some simple mental tasks, it has also opened a wide range of complex possibilities that Man needs to solve. For instance, before the creation of super computers, there were some matrixes that were unable to be solved by Man, and the medium problems often took 7 to 8 weeks to solve. Therefore, many real life applications of the Matrix were limited but due to the creation of super computers, Man can now tackle these problems by creating codes. But these codes do not make the critical thinking process less, in fact they make it more complex. Coders need to evaluate all possible scenarios of the problem and ensure that their codes are able to solve them. This is way more difficult than just addressing a single problem per time which was the order of the day before technological advancement.

In conclusion, while I agree that technological might have affected the human race in some aspects. People spend more time on social media consuming irrelevant contents rather than looking at how to solve problems in the real world. However, technology has also increased the range of difficult problems Man can solve. Complex issues such as climate change predication, space exploration, and a host of other problems can now be probed due to technology. During all the era that Man has lived, there has always been smart and ignorant people, technology has not led to more ignorant people who are unable to think for themselves. Therefore, it is erroneous to assume that advancement of technology is synonymous to less critical thinking from Man.