“Art does not exist unless it is shared; it requires both artist and audience.”

The statement claims that art by itself does not exist. Arguing for an art piece’s existence is not our focus here since existence is objective regardless of a perceiver. Therefore, in essence, the statement posits that art holds no intrinsic value unless it is shared with a creator and an appreciator, none of which is expendable. The claim thus requires two ends to construe an illustration of art. Although the context of which constitutes art is artificial, I still strongly disagree with the statement because I claim that the idea of art is universal, and that is not defined by whether there is a creator of the art piece, nor by whether a human being is on the other end of receiving this art. Eventually, art exists by itself, regardless of homo sapients’ endeavor to epitomize it.

Art, first of all, holds intrinsic value. A creator of art is an entity to which we attribute the creation; yet the definition of an entity is vague. For example, music, the concordance of objects’ reactionary sound wave propagating through a substance, is art in itself without a doubt. If one must limit the creator of music to the universe, I shall assert that music, even in the circumstances which is devoid of any audience, exist in itself as a form of art. The possibility that music shares intrinsic value across species or even disciplinary boundaries has well been proven by scientists — not only does animals enjoy music, but also does the plants, who thrive more prosperous under the influence of music. Here I claim that the existence of its artistic value is objectively extant because of one simple reason that music, a pleasing sound, affects all. Thus my argument is complete in the sense that at least one form of art exists regardless of its condition of sharing.

Secondly, one might attack my argument by pointing out that music, only at the moment it is being perceived, starts to become art. I reply with the definition of art that whatever holds intrinsic value is art. Music, although a concept conjured by humans and what we enjoy is not necessarily globally applicable, roots deeper than our understanding such that any other forms of entity can have their own appreciation of sound waves.

Lastly, art does not necessitate a creator, or in the original words, an artist. Put aside the view that our universe is an entity, we mostly discover the art in nature. Unraveling the mystery of universe has been the center of work for mankind. The golden ratio did not get created, it was existent since the beginning of universe; most of the mathematical beauties are disclosed as mankind advances. I then augment my argument with this statement: art is not definitive by humans; we are only a fraction of art’s audience, and that what constitutes as art has been laid out for mankind, some already dancing on the history of ours, some awaiting its grand debut. Our acceptance or production of art, does not redound to its existence, nor does it impair its intrinsic value.

To sum up, the statement that “art does not exist unless it is shared” is invalid. Furthermore, I believe in art’s inherent value, which can only be realized, not altered by any means.