To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

When it comes to the definition of “effectiveness”, people in general believe that doing things with the best solution within limited time, and that is “effectiveness”. In addition, quite a lot of people agree that a leader is a person who lead other people to a certain direction. Therefore, is the character of effectiveness that a leader should equip necessary? Or, is the quality of having highest ethical and moral standards that an effective leader must have?

To begin with, people have different viewpoints toward standards. In other words, standards vary in every mind of every human. From the cultural perspective, in my country, in order to have promising future of getting a well-paid career, merely maintaining at top of class is all people should do. This is because our domestic companies have tendency to hire students graduated from prestigious school. However, in other country, academic performance is not enough to enter well-known company. Practical skills such as internships or the ability to combine academic knowledge into developing useful tool are indispensable as well. As a result, the value of career preparation differs in every country, not to mention the “highest” ethical and moral standards.

Moreover, if a leader is lack of ethics or morality, yet the leader leads the public toward prosperous future, then the leader can be called as an “effective” leader.

On the contrary, if an effective leader has a better sense of ethics or morality, citizens could look up to their leaders. That is, citizens regard their effective leaders as their role model, who can not only lead the public to the promising future, but also have ethics and morality.

In conclusion, all the analysis points to an unmistakable perspective is that an effective leader do not necessarily have the highest ethical and moral standards.