To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards

A leader is one who stands up during the crisis and manages the task ahead effectively. Leadership qualities are rarely found in people. The prompt suggests that in order to be an effective leader one must be highly ethical with great moral standards. I do not completely concur with the author’s suggestion above and reasons for it will be substantiated be below.

Firstly, history tells us a great leader does not always imply that many great leaders are philanthropical or kind. These are the people with great mental fortitude and rise up to the occasion even when there are some evil forces working against him. For instance, Abraham Lincoln is still considered by historians as the one of greatest Presidents, America has ever witnessed. Abraham Lincoln was ruthless during his term and encouraged severe punishments even for minor crimes which are often overlooked. But he was regarded as the best because of his policies about emancipating slaves therefore condemning slavery practice in USA even though many whites were against him. He stood out not because of his moral standards but because of his stern policies.

Secondly, it is nearly impossible to always maintain and follow ethics. However, there are certain people who are known for their morals. Buddha and Mahavira are the paragons in their religious fields where they preached and obeyed every principle. These religious gurus cannot be considered as leaders as they do not involve in the day-to-day activities of a common man. These saints often spend their time in searching for God and enlightenment.

However, there are certain extreme austere leaders who lived a simple life ethically. One of the greatest men who is known to the entire world is Mahatma Gandhi. He practiced a great deal of self-denial by wearing clothes which he has woven and used a wooden stick for support while he embarked on remarkable protests and journey’s. He followed strictly the rules of ahimsa where he harmed none. He was known for asking people to turn the other cheek even if they were slapped on one. Gandhi is an exception as he was an effective leader with good morals.

In conclusion, great leaders do not always follow morals but are ready to avert the crisis their country or people are facing. Leadership qualities mainly include mental fortitude, knowledge regarding the situation and ability to manage the issue.