The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

Ideas that change people’s lives does not come from out of the blue. Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, and Elon Musk are people who we consider as someone known to have the best ideas and minds of the time. Their thoughts not only brought new technological developments but revolutionized our lives. However, their ideas were creative, not innovative. Their creations eliminated the difficulties we faced in our daily lives.

First of all, in order to have the best ideas, one has to always have an open mind and look for flaws that can be renovated. For example, if we look at how cell phones were developed, they were invented because the creator of the cell phones thought that it would be more convenient if the computers were portable. The creator was concerned in the difficulties we faced in daily lives with always having to use bulky computers only in certain places and wanted to solve such problem. Due to concerns and interests in people’s daily lives, one brought cell phones into our lives which has now become one of the essential things humans need nowadays.

Secondly, some people might say I am only considering the technological aspects, and in other fields, the cause of the best ideas might be different. However, this can also be argued with the example of Martin Luther King, Junior. In the 1800’s, the discrimination black people faced was very troublesome. They were disdained and faced opprobrium daily. It had not occurred to anyone that this can be overturned until Martin had the problem risen up to the surface. Martin had passionate interest in trying to have the discriminations eliminated and brought up with the idea of making it into a social and political problem. Due to Martin’s passionate interest in the common treatments black people faced, people came to realize the upsetting truth and were able to fight back.

In sum, through investigating in various angles and views, one can maintain that the best ideas that make our lives better or even bring revolution to the society, come from passionate interests in omnipresent things rather than out of the blue.