The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Leader is indeed the guiding force of any venture whether that be related to professional, social or political field. Thus leader act as a potent member in enhancing the growth and progress of any field of endeavor. While formulating any policy or framing any rule, the leader has to abide by certain principles like using his insight to adjudge the efficiency of the situation as well as giving a keen interest in the demands and needs of society. In a way, leader has to play a crucial role in any undergoing task upon which he has decided to work upon.

As said, leader is for the people, from the people and by the people; thus in a way leader can't perform as according to his own discretion as his actions depend upon the people to whom he is leading. To make his plans aptful and result oriented, leader has to listen to the feedback of the general public and then make necessary additions or amendments in his plans and procedures. How can one forget the great leaders of times Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of independent India, who always paid heed towards the public reaction towards his policies like introduction of five year plans, planning commission, amalgamation of princely states with federal government etc. in independent India. In addition, Mahatma Gandhi used to arrange the open discussions in which he used to discuss the issues of people and then work in accordance- this lead to his success and acclaim as the Father of Nation. In this regard, we can't refute the role played by Sir Martin Luther, Nelson Mandela, Barack Obama etc who paid proper interest in what are the expectations of public from them and how their ongoing programs are influencing them. Coming to other field, Ratan Tata, Bill Gates and all of widely renowned business leaders have always kept a steady pace with their co-workers as well as their consumers and that enhanced their popularity and success rate as compared to others.

Undoubtedly, leaders have vision and insight, they have better knowledge about the available resources and the funds and thus, they can provide more apt and valid solution to problems. The people at times present illogical demands that are quite base and can't be attained; moreover the feedback is often influenced by the nuisance factors of our society and thus we can't take feedback as sole factor to determine the course of work. How can one forget the issues prevalent in Indian society like regionalism, castesim, lingualism etc that affects the positive output of any policy? In this regard, Steve Jobs was indeed a meticulous leader; he used to listen to the feedback about his products from his co-members yet never adopted those if they lack sound reasoning. Thus it should be the responsibility of the leaders to decide the track they want to opt for, as they are better judge of any particular situation and thus can provide apt solution. Leaders are indeed Social or Professional Engineers and so development of any plan of work depends upon their actions.

To be very precise, if we want to make the system move on smooth track and to enhance the possibility of success in coming future, both the factors- knowledge and insight of leader should accompany with the feedback from the society; as one influences the other. The higher authority should adopt such procedures in which the feedback from public be given certain placing while framing any policy, this will ensure the citizens that their leader is giving due emphasis on their needs; in addition to this, the leader should have liberty to choose amongst the demands so that he can accept the relevant one while discarding the invalid ones.