The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for

Everyone has a different point of view according to their knowledge and information. Based on the same, they support or oppose the statement. While some universal truths can't be opposed. So in that case, to convince readers, the author must support the statement. It is not necessary to oppose the statement. I disagree with the statement.

Consider the given argument as ' There should be the same curriculum nationwide till they enter in the college '. There are some advantages as well as disadvantages of the given statement. Some people support the statement mentioning that the same curriculum will maintain similarity in basic subjects and a child will adopt new environment easily. Also, each child will be treated equally. Other people might be on opposing side stating that a child will be uninterested towards foundation if given the same curriculum. Each child will have different interests. If the same curriculum is applied, it must include all type of subjects. That might decrease a child's ability to study and interest.

Some statements are universally accepted. We can take an example of ' Honesty is the best policy ' or ' A good book equals 100 good friends '. One cannot oppose these facts as these are accepted by everyone. To convince readers, the author must support the statement and state examples of the same. Readers might find a person boring who opposes this kind of statements.

Also, there are some statements which can't be accepted and the opposition is a must. These statements include ' Internet should be banned to decrease unwanted spreading of information '. The Internet is a great source of getting information. Selection of relevant information is based on readers. It is true that rumors are spreading through the internet widely but a ban is not a solution for the same. BAnning the internet will block many useful pieces of information.

In sum, it is not necessary to oppose the argument to convince readers. It depends on the of the argument and interest of readers.