The best way to learn a new subject or skill is to study small segments or details in great depth rather than to start by trying to develop a sense of the whole

The method to learn a new subject or skill depends on the type of the subject. In some cases the best way to study small segments or details in great depth without trying to develop a sense of the whole. In other cases, it might be important to develop a sense of the whole to create an interest in the subject. Sometimes study required intermingling of both the techniques together.

First and foremost, people always learn a new language by first develop a sense of the whole. The study of a new language begins with the identification of important words of that language. These words help people to start making sentences that make sense. These sentences might not be grammatically correct but they can convey what a person trying to say. It is a more practical way to learn a language. For instance, if a person travels to a foreign country, it is important for him to fathom and be able to express his thought. It would not be a matter if he does not understand the nuances of grammar and denotation of all the words. Hence It's better to create a sense of the whole while learning a novel language rather than learning it thoroughly.

secondly, children begin learning a new subject in school by trying to apprehend a subject as a whole. For example, when children reach middle school they go about to understand that geography deals in the earth and its environment, science is the study of logical explanation and history deals with past, etc. If learning of biology begins with letting them know the details about a plan, they will never fathom biology is the study of living organisms, but not only the plants. If they want to study about animals it'll be significant to know them which field they have to pursue.

On the other hand, the study or skills like dancing and knitting begins by learning its parts in great depth and detail. The art of any dance form might be learned by knowing its basic steps. Once we learn these basic steps next part must be a combination of these basic steps. As the learning progress, the students develop a sense of whole dance form. It is impossible to learn the art of any dance form without knowing the basic steps. The same case holds for knitting.

To sum up, every subject or skill requires a different approach depends on the nature of the subject. But it's not correct to generalize the best way to learn a new subject or skill is to study small segments or details in great depth rather than to start by trying to develop a sense of the whole.