College students and people in general prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions Therefore colleges should eliminate as many choices as possible in order to offer students clear direction

I disagree with the statement given above that colleges should eliminate as many choices as possible in order to offer students clear direction. Although, there are many people who prefer to follow proper directions, there are a large number of people who make their own decisions themselves. It would be unfair to these people if colleges make their decisions for them.

In fact, colleges should offer as many choices as possible. It ultimately depends upon the person's likes and dislikes, his/her ambitions, and his/her area of interest. If a student doesn't mind choosing a subject according to his/her interest then the college should not raise any objection. When a student enters the college he/she is mature enough to make their own decisions themselves. Thus a person with a wide range of interests doesn't get disappointed. Sometimes, it may not possible for colleges to provide a wide range of choices for the sake of student's areas of interest, so they have to remove some choices. But, eliminating many choices to offer students clear direction will be unfair.

However, there are many people who are confused and required proper direction, colleges should provide some special counseling for them. If college feels that the student's wide area of interest does not match him, then it should be pointed out to the student. additionally, the students for whom guidance is provided shouldn't totally depend on the direction. Students will have to self analyze their interest as final decisions will be their own. Therefore if a student faces a dilemma regarding there choice of interest then college must help them, but not by eliminating choices in order to offer students clear direction.

Last but not least, clear direction is necessary even for those who are brilliant students. Success comes to a person who knows what his/her goals are, and where he/she wants to be. Therefore after students make their choice of interest and started studying in college, there must have some periodic performance analysis. This performance analysis will help them to know their strong side and how to make it better. It will help them to achieve their goals.

To sum up, even though directions are necessary, the college should only serve to direct students, it shouldn't eliminate as many choices as possible in order to offer students clear direction.