People work more productively in teams than individually Teamwork requires cooperation which motivates people much more than individual competition does

Teamwork as a whole can naturally produce an overall greater productivity through the concept of "synergy", where the total of whole is greater than the sum of its individual. But the idea that people work more productively in teams than individually is going to vary between type of teams, the end rewards or motivation for both team and individuals, as well as.

Regarding individuals, some people are born with desire to success , no matter what the situation and condition they are facing. These people evolve into the classic "type A" personality that work enthusiastically because they are driven by internal fire which says they always have to do something, whether as an individual or as a team. Some people are not socially active, for these people their work is more effective when they work individually, because every idea of cooperating with other will limit their effectiveness and efficiency, as they simply don't want to be a part of a team.

Some people are highly motivated by social interaction and desire to work collectively as a team. Obviously these individuals are most productive when they work in a group. Organizational behavioral studies shows that Asian cultures are much more likely to show such collective behavior than the individualistic behavior which is associate with western cultures. We can naturally says that there may be cultural values that can determine whether people are more effective individually or as a part of a group.

Last but not the least, the degree of productivity of a person and a team will also depend upon the organization. Is the group contain equally contributed individuals ? Does the group has an outstanding leader which motivate individuals and team as a whole? Hence a leader can make all the differences whether a person is more effective as an individual or as a part of team. Personality, who can work well together can prove to be more productive as a part of a team or as an individual, and vice versa.

To sum up, measure of productivity depends greatly on individuals themselves. The dilemma facing leaders in all area of life is how to determine the capability of folks to reach ultimate productivity. Whether a person works alone or in a team with others is one of the great challenges that leaders and the managers must face effectively and efficiently.