The greatest of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them and not by their contemporaries

Individual's greatness does not stop by spreading once they become zenith during their career. The statement is given above states, the greatness of individuals can be recognized only by those people who live after them, not by their contemporaries. However, the greatness of individuals not only determined after their demise but also by their peers. The above issue can be evaluated by many examples, which explain how contemporaries recognize the greatness of individuals.

There are many people from different fields in society, which can recognize the greatness of a person and willing to work with them for the betterment of society. Lets consider the political field. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi and Jawahar Lal Nehru. They were contemporaries. They work from the same political party. They appreciate and admire each other for their work. Though Mahatma Gandhi could become prime minister of India, he promoted Jawahar Lal Nehru for the given post. They together fought for the independence of India. Hence the greatness of individuals is decided by their contemporaries.

Another example that can cite my view is, Lets look into the sports field. Sarena Williams and Venus Williams are considered the best players of tennis in the world. Being sisters, they share their weaknesses and strengths together. Additionally, being contemporaries, they equally understand the greatness of each other. Being players, they ere willing to play with each other for their country. Therefore the greatness of individuals can be decided by their contemporaries, but not after their death.

Although, many might think that the greatness of individuals can be decided only after their death, not by their contemporaries. However, unfortunately, some people are recognized only after their demise. It doesn't mean that their peers don't want them to be famous. But as contemporaries, they might not readily recognize their greatness. For example Elvis Presley. He was known as the king of " Rock and Roll". Even now he is still known as the king of " Rock and Roll". His contemporaries said he was the best musician of his time. So, the greatness of a person can be recognized by their contemporaries.

To sum up, the greatness of individuals can be decided not only by people who live after them but also by their contemporaries.