The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is certainly true that cooperation is the key value that needs to be incorporated among young people of society who will in turn take leadership positions in the future. Though some people might argue that having the quality of competition is equally important, I tend to disagree with this opinion. In my view. cooperation is way more vital than competition as a foundation of leadership.

There is a very famous proverb that states, 'With great power comes great responsibilities'. Thus, it becomes very important for the person in position of the leader to be very responsible towards people working under him or her. It can be illustrated using the case of two government official of small towns. One of the town has recently employed a new strategy of farming to increase there paddy crops. They are very sanguine about it's output. But they have recently faced a very bad drought because of which the water supply is not adequate. In order to make their plan work they need the cooperation from the second town which has ample water sources. The official from second town should also be considerate and help them as per their situation. This will inculcate a good bond between them and this newly developed relation can help in the growth of their people.

Secondly, I believe there are always two sides of leadership. One is the leader and other is the people under them. Thus, a leader should be cooperative while working with people as cooperation is a people's quality. The moment you take the in charge of any government or any industry for that matter, all your decisions are never just yours. For instance, a factory runs with the people, if the leader has good impression on them then that can yield them success while if the leader is not cooperative and someone who considers everyone's point of view while coming on a decision then the same can be a good reason for the factory's decline.

In conclusion, I believe that competition can be one part of the making of a leader but not the whole. In sports as well a leader should be competitive with the rival team but at the same time a bigger responsibility is to be cooperative and considerate within your own team. Thus, young people should inculcate cooperation and team building skills to become a better leader tomorrow.