The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Preparing the youth for leadership is crucial to the success of any body, organization, company or country. Some people are skewed towards preparing the youth through inculcating them of the importance of cooperation. While others favor grooming through use of competition. I believe competition is more efficient in preparing the youth than cooperation.

The rate of growth of technological advancement in the last four decades as been nothing short of astonishing. The competition for relevance in a global world filled with so many technological prodcuts and services as made innovation at the core of how society operates. For example, for the Swiss to remain relevant in the chocolate industry, they have to continually innovate to ensure they keep the market share of the industry. Otherwise, the world would move to other countries providing more value at less cost. As seen in the shift of global oil demand from Africa to Eastern Asia.

Further, competition among various people or groups drastically drives up the amount of refinement supplied. A university student of literature applying to an international poem competition would deliver a much better work than if the said student was to work in a group to deliver a similar assignment for a peer review.

While cooperation brings about harmonious relationship and could act as a agent of change. There would have to be set standards to "compete" with or achieve. So even when people cooperate, they are acting as a single entity competing with others or a standard they set to achieve.

In conclusion, competition leads to growth more readily than cooperation.