The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government , industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

There is a general discussion in the society regarding the nuances of co-operation and competition, and which one of them is better for the younger generation and thus, to the public in general. The prompt has stated that it is better for the society to allow youth to lead themselves, by instilling co-operation rather competition. However, I do not agree with this statement. I think that society has become more competitive than ever and the pragmatic way for growth is to compete and flourish.

Right from kindergarten to school, from school to colleges and from colleges to job and beyond, we have always faced competition in one form or the other. While taking our school exams we faced competition from our fellow classmates and friends. Later, when we took our SATs we faced competition from thousands of persons from all over the globe. And finally, after all this struggle we still face competition to secure a job at our beloved dream company. The heavy structures of interview, group discussion, essays are ways to compete and secure a postion. And even so the struggle continues! There may be promotion race, transfer games, best employee batlles and so on. Thus competition is an inherent part of every human being's life. Limited resources and myraid desires are the main cause of this competition, with everyone aiming to get the best meat. In such "Age of Competition", it is difficult to ensure that co-operation will meet our ends. One can be easily tricked and just one broken link can cause the glue of trust to melt and co-operation chain to collapse.

Leaving the academic and career prospects aside, one needs to compete even in their personal life to get the things once desired. Animals compete amongst them to get the best partner. Male lions compete with other males to secure their territory. This is essential for their survival. On the contrary humans have to compete for not only survival but every aspect of their life. Humans have an emotional aspect where they need to compete. For example in a middle-class family of 4 children, the children might have to compete to get funds for their schools, attention of their mother or even, in some cases to get enough food for survival.

There are few positions of leadership and large number of candidates. How can one expect to co-operate when the competition is humongous. UPSC, a statutory body in India, conducts exams for civil services at federal level. The acceptance rate of this exam is mere 0.001%. around 10 lakh students apply to this exam. How can someone co-operate when he knows that the person sitting next to him can topple him out of the race. Many opportunities are available but only those who are competent enough and understand the battles can become like Napoleon The Great and conquer the world.

This does not mean that co-operation is not at all required. Co-operation between experts of various domains resulted in the first journey to the moon. Astrophysicist, chemist, astronauts, material engineers, bureaucrats, politicians, and even common man, all collaborated into this amazing journey. But, even there every person was competing with other to get the best results. Thus competition is not in itself an evil but more of necessity to achieve a better and prosperous future. We must instill the competitive attitude in young generation to make better leaders of tomorrow.