The following is taken fromamemo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

"According toarecent report from our marketing

department,during the past year,fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year.Clearly,the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers.Thus,the problem lies not with the

quality of our movies but with the public's lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocateagreater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising."

In the memo, the advertising director of the Super Screen movie has stated that their production company should allocate greater share of its budget to reach the public through advertising in the following year. The advertising director has reached this conclusion due to 2 assumptions. First that the quality of movies produced by them is good and second, that public has lack of awareness about these good movies. To better evaluate this recommendation, we need to answer 3 questions. This will help in deciding the budget share of the production company next year.

Firstly, the biggest leap of assumption in the passage is regarding that the movies are not reaching to prospective audiences. Was any survey conducted amongst the masses? The prompt states that the public are lacking awareness about the movies. But what if that's not the case and the public are sincerely not liking the movies? For example, the country has recently hosted The Olympics and people are quite enthusiast about sports. In such cases, a movie on sports or their favourite national sportsperson will attract more viewers (even if it has a low imdb rating), compared to a good Holocaust movie (with a higher rating).There are chances that the production company are showing their movies on the outskirts of cities (which lowers their cost), that might not be feasible for public to travel to. Are the timings of the movies released matching with the leisure time of public? The movie screens might be held after New Year. During these times, holidays are over and so the savings. Most people focus on their jobs. So even if an enthusiast might want to attend the movie, he might not be able to because of insufficient money or lack of free time.

Secondly, the inference that their movies are quite good, is higly doubted. Since the number of people who have attended the movies are quite low, the number of reviews available to them should also be lesser compared to previous years. These people might be die-hard fans of the cast or even relatives of the cast. Using a small sample set and a potentially biased one, makes the reviews groundless. Why was a poll not conducted? When there can be reviews from a wide range, this option should be excercised to get a more balanced review of their movies. This will help in narrowing down to the core problem. Quality of movies or reach to audiences.

Thirdly, has any study been conducted which has shown that increasing the advertising revenue might allow for better reach? Modern tools of advertising like Google Ads or using social media sites like Instagram, Facebook is quite cheap and allows a wider reach. The advertising team have not even mentioned their mode of reaching the public or how are they going to utilize their greater share of budget.

In conclusion, as the recommendation stands now, is seriously flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the advertising directore is able to answer the questions mentioned above and provide evidence for his/her arguements, then it is possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that a greater share should be allocated to the advertising department to reach the public.