The following is taken fromamemo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

"According toarecent report from our marketing

department,during the past year,fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year.Clearly,the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers.Thus,the problem lies not with the

quality of our movies but with the public's lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocateagreater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising."

Writearesponse in which you discuss what questions

would need to be answered in order to decide whether

the recommendation and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable.Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

The advertising director presents a proposal in the memo to the Super Screen Movie Production Company to allocate more budget to the advertising. This proposal has its own shortcoming due to few of the assumptions made by the director to reach to the conclusion. In the presence of this assumptions, it is difficult to accept the proposal of the advertising director to increase the fundings for advertising.

Firstly, the author on the basis of the past-year report from the marketing department has stated that fewer people have attended their produced movies in comparision to other years. The fewer audience for the produced movies can be due to various constraints which are not considered while stating the outcome of the report. The report only states the fewer sales made for their produced movies and not the reasons or the external factors affecting this sales.

This external factors can be due to the various reasons like the wideblown pandemic or the recession in the economies. It can be due to the reason that their were more movies produced overall and so the audience had more options as compared to previous years. It is possible a certain movie might have overshadowed the movie due to its immense fan following despite of this movie being a good watch.

It is possible that the movies were released at a bad time. There are many reasons which can impact the audience visiting the theatres to watch their movies.

Secondly, author states that the reviews by the movie reviewers were good for their films. Here, the author lacks to discuss the impact, reviewers have on the audience. It may be possible that the influence of the reviewers are not so impactful. It is also possible that the scale of the reviewers and the common audience for judging a film might be different. The reviews can also be influenced by some external entities which can again lead to varied results.

Thirdly, the author concludes from the reviews of few reviewers that, the movies we produce are worth watching and are indeed good productions. He believes that the quality of their movies are upto the mark only on the basis of few good reviews. He/She states that the problem lies not in the quality but in the awareness for the film. This may or may not be true for every movie. It is possible that amidst the awareness for the film, the quality of the film is repelling the audience from it. So, assuming that all our movies are upto the mark for the quality is not good.

Also, the author claims that, through marketing and advertising we can increase the awareness about the movie and so increase the sales for the movies. But, advertising itself is not sufficient for the success of the movie. A movie consist of various key constraints such as storyline, cast, quality, direction, music and many more. One cannot rely totally on the promotions of the film for its success. Although, it may attract few initial success for two-three days, but will not help in the longer success of the movie.

To conclude, the Super Screen Movie Production Company should provide budget considering each and every constraints responsible for movie production. A balance allocation for the advertising and other departments should be done after a thorough calculation of what plays a more impactful role in the success of a movie.