The best way forasociety to prepare its young people

for leadership in government,industry,or other fields is

by instilling in themasense of cooperation,not

competition.

Writearesponse in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the claim.In

developing and supporting your position,be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement states that more importance should be given to creating an environment of cooperation instead of competition for the development of better leaders in the society. The quality of cooperation is important for a person to be a good leader. Cooperative skills are one of the most looked after skills in a leader. Competition on other hand might not serve the purpose of leading a team.

Leadership is a virtue which is required to direct a team or group of people into the right directions. Leaders are people who are responsible for major decision making and for the well-being of the teammates. A person who is a good worker may not always be a good leader. Leadership skills are not easily found and takes lot of efforts to develop.

Secondly, a leader also requires to be a good team member. A leader's responsibility doesn't end with instructing the members in the right direction. A leader has to work at the very fundamental level along with other teammates to make sure that the work is done properly. So, cooperation also plays an important role here. If the leader is not cooperative with other colleagues, it may be possible that he might not get the cooperation he seeks from the team members in return, which might eventually hamper the whole functioning of the team.

For the members to follow the orders and work as instructed by the leader, it is important that the members respect the leader. This respect can be gained only through cooperation and treating others as their equals. Leaders work hard to maintain cooperation in the team. Leaders make sure that all the team members work in unity. A Team which is united can do wonders. The team as a whole can be proven so efficient in fulfilling their purpose in the company.

Competition is also an essential component for the hollistic development. Competition provides the deserving candidates with the right opportunities. Competition develops an environment which forces the candidates to give their best. Competition provides the industry with the finest talent present for them. But, competition in the team can cause havoc. Members of the same team should not be competiting internally among themselves. It can lead to severe mayhem which can disrupt the whole work cycle of the team.

So, leaders should make sure that he/she directly or indirectly dont create a environment of competition in the team. Leaders themselves should not promote competition inside the team. Thus, leaders themselves should not believe in the quality of competition more than cooperation. Competition with different teams is preffered as it can lead to the development of the most efficient product as an outcome of different teams trying to outdo the other teams.

To conclude, competition is essential for individual's development but leadership skills require more emphasise on imparting the virtue of cooperation among the team members instead of competition and so it is best for the society to impart the quality of cooperation instead of competition in the young generation to prepare them as better leaders of the tomorrow.