The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The business manager of the television station, through its memo is providing a recommendation to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its previous level. Although, considering all the assumptions made by the manager leading to the recommendation, are not backed by solid evidence and so the recommendation should not be implemented totally without sufficient research on the matter.

Firstly, the author states that over the past year, the complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news have increased. The author states the reason for tthe rise in the complaints as the decreased allocation of time for the weather and local news. But, the author doesn't mention the details of the complaints received for the segment.

The author assumes that the complaints are mainly due to the decreased time period of the local news segment which might not be totally correct.

Their are various constraints involved for the increase in the complaints for the late- night news program. It can be possible that the news shown at the program are biased towards a idealogy. It is also possible that the news provided are not authentic news. It is possible that for the purpose of attracting viewers, the station has been telecasting fake or viral news without checking it for authenticity. It is also possible that the weather predictions made are not to the point and are not totally reliable. The problem can also lie within the anchor itself who is unable to provide the news in the desired manner. So, just on the basis of increased complaints for the local news segment, we cannot claim that all the problems lie on the time allocated for the segment.

Secondly, the author mentions the decreased advertising contracts with the local businesses as a result for the decreased allocation of time for the local news segment. It is possible that the local business might not think of advertising at late night more profitable and hence, have stopped advertising at that particular time period. It is also possible that the charges of news channel are more compared to the competitors charges which attracted the local businesses to them. So, the main cause for the businesses to opt out from advertising with the station cannot be decided without considering all the key factors involved.

Thirdly, It is possible that the viewers who watch news late in night have reached a saturation point. It is possible that the growth curve for the viewership has been straight as the number of viewers who watch news late in night are limited, unlike the day news or early morning news. The time for the telecast of this program has its own drawbacks. This is not a very popular time set for the viewers to listen to news. With the increase in the OTT Entertainment platforms, it is possible that the expected viewers have shifted to the platforms for their entertainment.

Thirdly, the author's assumption that the viewership might increase with the reinstating the previous time for weather and local news is not solid. It is possible that the local news might not have that much content in it and thus the extra time left after providing the news might be a waste of time for the viewers again tempting them to shift to the other news channels. It is possible that the locality has seen a decrease in crimes and so, no major news are generated on the everyday basis for the station to provide to its viewers. This will also lead to undesired results for the broadcasting station.

Also, the author fails in establishing the relation between the advertising contracts and the timespan of weather and local news. So, instead other ideas should also be explored for increasing the advertising contracts by providing special offers and services to the local business owners. Local news may be important as it may attract more audience which the local business owners target but the local news segment might not be the only constraint in the decision making of this owners.

To conclude, I would like to suggest the broadcasting station to create a balance in between the time allocated for national and local news. The time allocated should be variable and should be decided on everyday basis on the basis of the importance and relevance of the content in each segment of the news. Someday, the national news might be given more importance, while sometimes the local news might prove out to be more necessary for the audience. Also, other major reformations should be made in the station for increasing their average everyday viewership and for attracting more advertising contracts in the station.