The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author presents a statement to the board of the directors of the mentioned company with the prediction that the demand of heating oil will increase in the upcoming five years but The Prediction has its own shortcomings due to few of the assumptions made by the author to reach to the conclusion. Certain Assumptions in the presence of which, it is difficult to rely totally on the author’s prediction making the recommendation doubtful at the best.

Firstly, the author states that oil has been a major source of fuel for heating in the homes in northeastern United States, but this statement is not backed by any research or analysis providing evidence to the statement of the author. Eventhough oil has been a major fuel for heating in the past, it can not be assumed that it is still one of the most efficient and most used source for generating heat. With the technological advancements, there are various other methods through which heat can be generated like electricity and so it can not be supposed that it will stay the most reliable source for generating heat. It is not sure if the oil can even generate sufficient heat during extreme cold weathers and so can not be stated as the most reliable fuel for generating heat of the future.

Secondly, Author states that the climate forecasters have predicted that the decrease in the temperatures below the normal expected range will continue for several more years. The Weather forecasts made are vaguely stated and there is no clue present about how many years precisely the prediction is stating. Also, weather forecasts are not totally true everytime and they have a few hit and miss situations now and then. Relying totally on weather forecasts can sometimes be a profitless endeavor.

Thirdly, Author states that there are more and more new homes built in the area and so with the increase in population, the demand for the fuel will rise in the area. Although, the rise in the population cannot be directly be related with the increase in oil demands. It is possible that the new homes built are already pre-equipped with heaters having modern technology used in them. It is possible that the heaters provided runs by electricity instead of oil and so then the demand of oil can decline. Also, if the heaters are not provided with the new homes, it is possible that the owners might opt for other more efficient heating options for their new homes.

Lastly, Prediction stating five years is a lond duration and wonders can happen during such long span. It is possible that research can provide us with new and more efficient heating solutions. So, the statement requires many specific evidences to support the claims of the author without which the prediction is doubtful at best to succeed.