The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Augmentation of a cooperative characteristic, rather than competitive, is the best way to prepare the younger generation to be a leader in any particular field, is the claim made by the speaker. I, implicitly, agree with the author given the development of responsibility toward society, the reduction of pessimistic thoughts, and the increase in benevolence. While always being optimistic and hopeful in nature can lead to utopian nature that is not at all practical.

Admittedly, being practical in any given situation is subjective; though it has something to do with being faithful, practicality also improves with experience. For example, Subway the company producing western food did not feel Burger king as a potential conflict, instead, they targeted the vegan pedestrian population to increase their sale. Because the CEO of Subway came to know that the people who are fond of taking vegan food are in scarcity of places to eat. Here, the CEO observed the conflict and chose practicality and benefit of the public at the same time.

Furthermore, cooperative sense doesn't stop at thinking at the societal level it extrapolates to taking responsibility for the nation and its people. For instance, the leader behind the Tata group of industries, Mr. Ratan Tata, helped several impoverished organizations, and, in fact, 46% of the revenue generated by the Tata group will be transferred to various poor colonies. This thinking of making everyone a better person is the result of taking up the responsibility of each and every person.

Moreover, the deletion of negative thoughts takes away being skeptical by nature. Hope and loyalty are the things one should show and leave behind as a legacy to the next generations. Being optimistic and having a peaceful mind also helps to handle pressurized situations with ease which is a prominent trait required by any leader.

In sum, after explicit dissection and weighing of several traits or characteristics, I feel being cooperative than competitive is the correct thing to do as a step to instruct or motivate the younger ones in molding as a leader. As Kalam sir said, utopian is the best way of living because one who can see impractical can improve the nation to that extent.