The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A strong society is where the society overall, is together, and all the voices are equally heard and respected. A democracy will achieve it's ultimate form if all the citizens get equal representation in the government. The prompt also fortifies the same idea by stating that the young people should be imbibed in a sense of cooperation rather than competetion for a strong government. I mostly support the statement put forward by the prompt for the below two reasons. However, I concede that excellence will be achieved if we have a healthy competition.

First of all, Democracies are a form of government where people vote for the government. This strongly requires a sense of co-operation between the citzens and government officials. For example, If we consider the current military regiments in few countries, the reason why the people in the country are at constant distress and turmoil is because of the constant power struggule two power hungry competing parties are having rather than looking for the welfare of the people. Also, we saw many revolutions like the french renaissance where people come together to in resistance to power concentration and resulted in power distribution. So, the values of co-operation that we install in the young people now, will result in a society that promotes harmony, and fraternity over fight, and war.

Secondly, Cooperation can enhance peoples abilities as it promotes knowledge transfer from one another and result in overall development of all. However, competition, in its crude sense, often instills a sense of hesitation to share our knowledge and wisdom which derails the other party even if he is willing to share. For instance, Ernst Rutherford, a student of Sir. JJ Thompson, experimented with the hypothesis that his teacher had presented and found a better model of atom that eliminated some of the previous flaws. Also, countries trade with each other to get the products (goods and services) from other countries into their market and vice verse, if they lack cooperation, the markets will be more concentrated with the local produce and lack variety. So, the ability to cooperate from young age instills the sense of sharing and growing together, and will reflect in the governance overall within the territory and territories around. Hence, the prompts assertion is persuasive.

However, Lack of competition doesn't provide motivation for people to get themselves better as they are at ease with the current abilities. Healthy competition motivates a person to constantly struggle and learn new abilities to get constantly better. Two political parties promoting well being of people is always better than just one party doing it. And, the competition between them will actually make them come up with better solutions for the people's good. For instance, Monopoly in the market has a significant risk of price rise, while a market with many players increases the quality and may restrict price hike. So, If the people needs competiton to get better and they don't have innate motivation to do better, competition is needed which makes the prompt strong assertion, falliable.

To Conclude, I believe that instilling a sense of motivation of getting better and cooperation may do better to the societies instead of a constant competitive nature. The scope to enhance themselves with others knowledge and a place where all voices are heard is a placid place to stay rather than a place where parties constantly fight with eachother for power. However, If the people are torpid, then competition may actually make them strive to achieve excellence.