The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The proposed memo from the advertising director states that the problem of fewer people attending the super screen movie production films is because of lack of awarness among people about good quality movies, and the advertizing spend should be increased inorder to spread awareness. The author says so, because of the increase in the percentage of positive reviews among the people watched the film this year, compared to the previous year. And hence, the content is not far-reaching even if it has good quality. However, the conclusion needs more evidence to bolster it's claim and make it more ubiquitous.

Firstly, We donot know the actual reason behind less number of people attending the films compared to last year. For instance, the movie that was released in the last year may be bad which inturn made viewers hesitate to come into theatres for the company's next ventures. Also, the production company may have increased the prices of tickets that made the tickets unaffrodable to some people, and resulted in the decrease in numbers. If either of the above claims is true, then the reason of lack of awarness about the good quality films reflecting in reduced numbers of peope not going to the theater doesn't hold water.

Secondly, The author states that the contents of the films are not reaching enough of the prospective viewers. There is a chance that the categorization used here is actually flawed and the company doesn't have a proper understanding about the prospective viewers. They may be fond of drama's and the company keeps producing action films. So, proper research on the prospective viewer's preferences might actually make fortunes for the company. And, there's also a possibility that the prospective viewers set the company is catering to is a small set. Then changing the target audience set to other genres might increase the revenues for the company instead of concentrating on advertizing. If any of the above stated hypothesis holds truth, then the assertion made by the author is not persuasive.

Thirdly, Current film's advertizing percentage in the overall budget is unknown as compared to previous film's advertizing percentage. There is a chance that the current year's advertizing percentage may be grater than previous year's percentage in the overall budget, but this increased budget didn't reflect in the viewership numbers. Also, the current marketing style of the production company might be outdated and not properly reaching people, it may be using hoardings to promote films, while many other films use social media or television to reach wider audience. In this case, altering the marketing style is needed instead of increasing the allocation. If any the above stated reasons is true, then increasing the advertising revenues might not be prudent for the company to attract customers.

To conclude, the assertion in its current form is prone to many fallacies, if any of those comes true, the company might actually loose more customes instead of the increase in the number. The author needs to do more analysis on the actual reason why the people are showing disinterest and do more research on people movie preferences. And, the author might also have to look if the current marketing practices are actually working positively for the company or not. Upon doing thorough analysis of the above stated possibilities, the author can come up with much more solid and persuasive suggestion to improve the companies profits.