Some people think that children perform better in a single-sex school compared to a mixed school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that a student can perform well studying in a single-sex school than in a mixed school. I disagree with their statement for the following two reasons; however, I concede that the conclusion is subjective and depends on the sample set.

Firstly, student’s results depend more on the teacher than the people in the class. For instance, we cannot expect good results from a sixth-grade class which has a teacher from kindergarten. The teacher’s ability to control his/her students and clearly communicate with the whole class is key in improving the student’s capabilities.

Secondly, having interaction between different genders provides students with wider perspectives and opinions. To give an example, many companies all around the world are focusing on diversity in their workforce. If an employee doesn’t know how to interact with other genders properly, work efficiency might take a hit. So, schools must focus on a collaborative curriculum which doesn’t segregate students based on gender, or any other differences to make them competitive for the future.

However, the student subset should be assessed before reaching any conclusion on the above topic. The curriculum should be locality centric to be more persuasive for the children. For instance, in a society where gender-based crimes are more, or the school is unsafe for a particular gender, it is advisable to educate the people before getting them together. In such situations, it may be better to promote single-sex schools and design a curriculum that educates them and makes them more responsible.

To conclude, it is better for a child (who will eventually become a country’s citizen) to study in a mixed-gender school to develop inclusive thoughts and to distance prejudices. Even though some societies might incline towards single-sex schools, it is better to eventually move towards an all-encompassing classroom.