The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader is someone who carries a team. He is not someone who dictates people on what should be done but is someone who instills a sense of togetherness in a team. A good leader is one who is the first in line on the battlefield and who gives a sense of direction for his team to move forward. A leader has to be the one who is the glue that holds the team together in times of turmoil. Hence values of togetherness and cooperation have to be instilled in leaders.

For a team to be successful, cooperation is the most important aspect. A team that is well-bonded is the one that will taste victory in testing times. Teams that do not function together, will always find it difficult to cope when the tides are tough. In every activity, teams that are similar in their skills will still have different outcomes that will be dictated by which team is more glued together. Hence, cooperation is the main virtue that must be instilled in a leader. It is often said that various qualities are imbibed by individuals in their elementary years. Hence it is of utmost importance that leaders are shaped from a very young age. A sense of cooperation at a very young age will be instilled in indviduals by teaching them qualitites like sharing and teamwork. Leaders have to be good at cooperation and be the ingredient that unites the team. A sense of cooperation is necessary as a team consists of individuals with very diverse backgrounds and have very different tought processes. Hence there might be situations when two individuals would not be in agreement in a task and this is when the sense of cooperation will help the leader to make concessions to ensure all individuals are happy and taken care of. Sense of cooperation in a leader would promote sense of cooperation within a team which would help a team overcome its shortcomings. For example, if someone is good at one thing and another individual is good at another, both can work together and address areas of the problems where each of their expertise lies.

A sense of competition is necessary only to some extent. A sense of competition will give the individuals traits of ruthlessness which is neccessary for teams to succeed. Competition is present in every field and a sense of how to win a competition is necessary for a leader for him to direct the team towards the right path. But this competativeness should not be within a team. Where individuals try to pull eachother down so they climb the ladder. Neither should this competativeness make leaders use malicious methods to win competitions. Like in various industries where one team tries to jeopardize the other teams work to gain an advantage.

Hence while I agree that the best way to shape young leaders is to instill a sense ofcooperation, it is necessary that they also have a sense of competition only to the extent that it does not drive them to use unfair means or create cracks within a team environment.