Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Global climate change should be concern of topmost priority for every nation as climate change is deleterious. Climate change is not only affecting humans but the whole ecosystem. It is causing aberrant behaviours in nature and these situations will inevitably lead to the downfall of human civilization. I agree with the view that it is imperative for individuals in developed nation to reduce their energy consumption and incline themselves towards a more sustainable lifestyle.

People in developed countries have immense facilities and extremely high standards of living. To provide such standards of living requires a large amount of energy consumption. For example, a large amount of the population have their own cars and would prefer to travel in them which increase fuel consumption and release harmful substances in the atmosphere that are not without dangerous consequences like Global Warming that ultimately leads to the climate change. The high standards of living that individuals in developed countries are accustomed to will only keep increasing with advancements in technology and people will never have enough of the luxuries. This will only lead to profligation of resources and consumption of energy which will cause harm to the environment.

Developed countries need to move towards a sustainable lifestyle where they reduce on their fuel consumption while not sacrificing immensely on their standard of living. This can only be possible if they move in the direction of use of renewable sources of energy instead of the fossil fuels. There is no way that people will suddenly stop using cars and walk to their destination, hence it is necessary to find a middle ground where people enjoy comforts and still reduce on energy consumption, like the use of public transportation. Even though the situation with climate change is not yet out of hand, riding along this path without any restrictions will only push the situation on a downward slope and could result in perilous effects on the planet.

Hence, even though i agree that a change in the living lifestyle for individuals in developed countries is imperative, these changes need to be gradual. Plodding on this path of consuming resources recklessly will only lead to the doom of this planet.