The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young people are the torchbearer of a society. They are responsible for the betterment of the future of a society. Preparing young generation for leadership can be complicated. However, making them ready for the future in a positive and cooperative sense is way better than teaching them in the competitive mode.

Humans are triggered both by positive and negative emotion but positive emotion undoubtedly benefits an individual. Instilling a sense of cooperation in young generation instead of competition does the same. It is important to understand that one needs to be positive to live a healthy life and make their surroundings better. Becoming a leader in government, industry or any other fields is a challenging task for sure. One can ameliorate this process just by replacing the competitive method of teaching with a more lenient and amicable method. A method that includes others, encourages one to be more helpful, spreads positivity and most importantly unites the people to make them stronger and better together - is what needed.

Unity and cooperation play a vital role in leadership. Without such qualities, none can become a good leader. For example, the 44th U.S. President Mr. Barack Obama emphasized on unity and cooperation and people admired him truly, they still do. His actions and beliefs were driven by positive emotions instead of competition, rivalry, winning and other negative approaches.

While healthy competition can also motivate people but after a certain point people tend to cross boundaries and harm others just to win the competition. Jealousy, greed, superiority, corruption all these enter in the society if the people are concerned with "winning" all the time. By changing the conventional thought process and instilling empathy and unity in young people, a society can be benefitted in many ways. Great future leaders is one of the biggest advantages of this.

Eliminating competition completely is not the wisest suggestions. That being said the discussed ways are much better to prepare young people and mould them into great leaders in various fields.