The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Creating a competitive environment for young people can have a positive impact on students as it can help them to achieve their goals.

But a good leader has the ability to cooperate with others and maintain a congenial environment by appreciating other's efforts.

Therefore, I fundamentally agree with the claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in any field is through cooperation and not competition. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below-mentioned examples.

Firstly, while, competition may have several positive impacts, it may induce selfishness and avarice in individuals.

Young people are always determined to achieve their goals in their lives. Excessive competition causes them to have a strong desire of achieving their own interests while not caring for other's views or opinions. Perhaps, the strong interest to come 'first' in any competition may lead them to disregard other's advice or they may not appreciate other people's efforts. They might get themselves involved in a mad race,

where their ultimate goal would be to rise above others and for doing so they may resort to immoral actions. For instance, consider a school that has set up an exam to test the students' abilities in various subjects. The person who scores the highest marks would also be rewarded. Under the greed of getting a reward, a student may tend to resort to immoral actions such as cheating on the test. Further, he could not listen to any teacher's advice or maybe he won't help any other student with his doubts or difficulties so that only he can score the highest marks. In such a scenario, even if he does get a high score, it cannot be proved that the student is a good leader. A good leader has a sense of cooperation and is one who helps others as well as uses moral means to achieve one's goals.

In addition to this, cooperation causes the individual to appreciate other's opinions. For instance, in a workforce, the manager has to appreciate other people's suggestions for the successful completion of any project. He should give a fair chance for everyone to give their own input for the completion of any complex task. Through this approach, probably he may be able to solve the problem quickly and efficiently. Further, consider the leader of the nation, who has a major responsibility of gaining the trust of the people. If he simply disregards the population's opinion about any political matters such as implementing a new policy, then this won't help him in achieving his goals as this would weaken the people's trust and the leader would probably have to face protest from certain groups.

To sum up, although in certain scenarios competition can have a positive impact on a person as it can encourage him to improve himself and be better than others in several aspects, what should be essentially taught the students is cooperation. Through instilling a sense of cooperation, the young people will be able to respect other's opinions and hence