The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The youth of today is enthusiastic to learn new things. This learning is often fueled by a zeal to be better than their peers. This competitive environment drives young people to have a sense of direction in choosing their career and encourages them to build their knowledge and hold command over their specific field of research or profession. Their expertise and attitude would contribute to them winning a leadership position in this super-competitive world. Competition is hence, quite necessary to drive the youth towards not just learning, but also developing new technology, art and forces them to stay atop the hierarchy and enjoy the benefits of power.

That said, it can't be ignored that society, as a whole, is based on the principle of cooperation and community bonding. For a society to develop, it requires strong leaders who can envision and deliver on their promises. A leader's command and the ability to direct people is a product of competition and the desire for continuous learning and innovation. But power alone won't suffice to be a good leader, leadership demands listening to your people's woes, listing out the possible solutions, consulting experienced peers and then ultimately making a calculated decision.

To understand people, a leader needs to empathize with them, Through compassion, a leader should chalk out all the consequences and then based on this holistic approach, choose the best solution.

One can easily relate to sports for example. The captains of any team are in that capacity because of their personal achievements and also because they displayed a sense of comradeship with their teammates. A captain takes on every match understanding the strengths of each of his players, analyses the situation, and basis the inputs suggested by his teammates and team managers, decides upon the best game plan to win that match.

Similarly, a democratic nation provides its general population with a set of competent leaders, who are expected to work in a harmonious manner and govern the nation with a sense of belonging.

This sense of belonging and working with peers as well as the Opposition can be developed only when cooperation as a virtue has been instilled right from the early days of learning and can be taught through a variety of exercises, projects and group sessions so that the Leaders of tomorrow are first listeners and then doers.