The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The balance of competition and cooperation among the members specially the young members of a society is crucial for its development. The prompt says, instilling a sense of cooperation in the young minds of a society will better serve in making future leaders. I mostly agree with this for two reasons.

Firstly, competition prioritizes self interest over the interest of the whole community. And, there are times when these two conflict. Even if they don't, it is the sense of cooperation that is will help a true leader to think more about the interests of his/her followers. For example, during the cold war between Russia and America in the late 1965, it is competition that led them to be enemies of each other rather than making one of them leading the other. Leadership requires the trust of his/her followers. Trust is built when a person or nation is helping out others in their bad times, sharing maybe a secret technology or scarce resource with them. Competiting mind won't allow someone to share his/her resources with others. Thus precluding any chance of building trust and effective leadership.

Secondly, competition instills in a mind an urge to win by any means. Winning mentality is good. But, when a competitive mind doesn't find any viable way he/she can really beat their opponents, it will resort to ways that are harmful to the society. Cooperation, on the other hand, is not winnnig alone. If someone from a community does better in a field, it is a matter of pride for the whole community. So, in co-operative mind it is more important to win as a whole than individual winnings.

However, a sense of competition is also needed for a community to do better. Yes, it is cooperation that is the foremost of making leadership effective. But, the leader needs to have an urge to do than other communities as a whole. If there is no sense of competition, the society might even start to dwindle. As we know, nothing remains still with time. Even to keep pace with the developing world, a leader needs to find ways for the betterment of his/her community. For example. if a general manager of a production unit of automobiles doesn't have any sense of competition, he'll eventually lose his job. Because, with time the rival companies will adopt to latest technologies and increase their production and this manager won't feel the need to do so, not without a sense of competition. As a result his company will start to lose market share and a decrease in the total production and sales. So it is imperative to have a sense of competition, even to hold the same ground.

To conclude, I would say, for an effective leadership, a balance of cooperation and competition is needed-with the balance, obviously tilted towards the cooperation part. Cooperation will teach young minds to help others, make them able to solve different problems, making them better human being and better intellectuals as well. But, a tatal absence of competition is not good as well