A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A nation has both the responsibility and opportunity to guide its people towards achieving greater common goal. The prompt argues that a nation should require all its students to follow a common national curriculum until they enter college. I mostly agree with this statement for mainly two reasons.

Firstly, it's far more easier for a nation to devise a plan towards achieving a common goal when all the students nation-wide are following a common curriculum rather than having multiple curriculums at the same time within the country. For example, if a nation plans to design a superior infrastructure and develop better technologies than its competetors, it will try to develop it's citizens as masters in technical matters. If that nation can require all its students to follow a same curriculum then it'll be easier to implement that plan. Again, if the country targets to be superior in arts, then it has the opportunity to try and make the most out the creativity of its citizens. During industrial revolution some countries like China did actually implement this idea. They restricted their citizens to pursue higher studies and focused more on practical technical training and manpower development, which proved to lay the base for the country's present achievements in techological aspects.

Furthermore, when all the employers in a country know that all the students from their country has been following a common national curriculum, then it's easier for them to design jobs accordingly and also they'll know what to expect from their employees. For example, if a company is planning to set up a new nuclear powerplant, it will try to employ the best people with knowledge and expertise in the field. Having knowledge of the curriculum that the students of that country has been following, gives them an advantage regarding who to employ and what they can expect from their employees. This also builds trust between employer and the employees.

On the other hand, requiring all the students to follow a common curriculum limits many to completely grow and achieve their full potential. Because not all students of a country are alike. Some might be naturally good in maths and technical subjects and others might be more interested in creative arts. A nation that requires all the students to follow the same curriculum not only violets its citizens rights, it also risks not being able to harness all the potential of it's citizens. A student with predisposition to maths will find it hard to cope with a curriculum that emphasizes more on creative arts and therefore will not be as good an engineer as a students who loves maths.

To summarize, it's a tough question to answers whether a common curriculum is good or not. But, a democratic country which focuses more on it's citizens well-being, will not try to implemet a common curriculum and make some of its citizens life miserable to acieve a common goal. On the other hand, a country that focuses more on acheiving certain goals as a nation, may try to do so.