"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising directory of the Super Screen Movie Production Company augues that allocating more fund in advertising is going to attract more people to its movies. It does that on the premise that there is an increse in the percentage of good reviews of the movies it had produced in the past year and these reviews are not reaching enough people. But, before evaluating the recommendation, we need to find answers to three questions.

Firstly, are the quality of the movies produced past year were really good enough to attract people? The memo does say that they had fewer people attending their movies past year than any other year. That means, it might be that in the other years the movies produced were good quality ones and in the past year there actually fewer good movies to watch. It is the quality of the movies that would attract the people to attend the movies not the advertisement. In fact, over advertisement of poor quality movies can subvert any chances that the production company has, to really succeed and attract a big crowd. For example, If one goes to a movies seeing really good advertisement and finds out in the theatre that it is really not what it claimed to be or at least it is not what he/she would like to watch. That person will have the impression that this production company uses malpractice for attracting people to poor quality movies. And, the production company will lose a movie goes parmanently, because even when they produce a good movie that person is not going to trust that advertising.

Secondly, are the increment in the positive reviews really expressing the general public opinion regarding the movies? It might be the case that the fewer people that attended that movies, were novices when it comes to judge a movie critically. Or, they might be the people who have good relation with the production company. They might be people who happens to like the specific genra of movies that were in play. The point is, when the total number of people in a survey decreases, it starts lose its credulity in terms really speaking for the general people. Likewise, as there were less people attending the movies, the increment in the positive reviews doesn't really speak for the crowd that the movies are really good.

Lastly, is there really a lack of advertising? It can be inferred from the memo that there were good number of people attending movies of the production company in other years except the past year. So, if the decrease in the attendance in movies is soley because of lack of advertising then how come there were more people in other years? The same amount of fund and the probably the same strategies fetched them more attendance in their theatre in other years. So, it can't be concluded with the information provided that there is really a backslide in the advertising techniques of the production company.

To conclude, the recommendation recommended in the memo is in fact, tentative. The questions asked above need to answered to be able to evaluate if the recommendation is really plausible one.