To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Societies comprise of people with different characteristics. The prompt argues that it is a must to study a society's major cities to understand it's important characteristics. I mostly agree with the position for two reasons. However, I do concede that studying only the major cities might limit the understanding.

To begin, as major cities of a society provides the greatest opportunities to its dwellers, it is the place where most people live. Without studying these cities, the study to understand the most important characteristics will certainly exclude a great number of people of that society. For instance, if H&M, a giant clothing brand, would like to figure out the purchasing behavior of the people of certain country, it would be doing surveys in the biggest cities of that country. Doing this would give them an idea about what the people of that country might or might not like to purchase. On the contrary, if H&M, would've done it's surveys in a small city of that country it would not have gotten a clear picture about the purchasing behavior of the country's most people. To understand a characteristic of a society, it is therefore important to study most of it's population. And most often than not, most people of a country live in it's major cities.

Furthermore, the dwellers of major cities of a country generally come from different part of the country. So, only studying the major cities give a much more bigger picture than studying a small town. For example, if the language patterns of bangladeshi people are to be studied, then it is best to start the study from it's capital, Dhaka. Because, people living in dhaka mostly weren't born in dhaka rather they came from different parts of the country to the capital. So, studying the language of the people of dhaka, a much bigger picture can drawn regarding the language pattern of bangladeshi people. If the study were to focus on a much smaller city like rajshahi, it is very hard to find any proof that other languages do exist in the country as most of the people in rajshahi speak their native dialect of the language. But, studying dhaka,.the study would find existence of many other dialects of the language.

However, studying only the major cities might not give a clear picture of the characteristics that are being studied. For instance, in case of the previous example, even though studying dhaka would give a much clearer and bigger picture than studying any other smaller cities (in terms of dialects of the language), this picture is not complete. Because there are many areas or districts in the country that are very remote and there are very few people from those areas living in the country. So, to get a complete picture of the dialects present in the country, one also has to study the smaller regions of the country alongside the major towns.