governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

science by its very definition is the exploration of unknown. The prompt argures that govenments should not fund research whose results are unclear. I mostly disagree with this for two reasons. however, I do concede that some research areas are more delicate than others.

To begin, governments should fund scientific researchs even if the results are unclear, because science by it's very nature is about the discovery of unknown. For instance, when bengamin franklin walked out on a stormy day to test his theory on electricity, he wasn't sure about the consequences. if he, in fear of 'unclear' consequences, didn't test his thoeries that day, our knowledge on electricity wouldn't have been as substantial as it is today. Likewise, when newton decided to stare at the sun for as long as he could to find out the effects of sun-rays on his eyes, he didn't have any previously written textbook to refer to about the consequences of his actions. science has been exploring the unknown for as long as the humans are there on this planet. And, by these unpredictable endevours, science has always solved problems and benefited humankind. if the govenments don't fund researchs because of the uncertainty of the results then, this would hamper the momentum of science.

furthermore, governmets should fund unpredictable research projects, because these journey towards 'unclear' might be beneficial to mankind in the longrun. For example, if tomas alva edison, didn't go for the journey toward unclear, we wouldn't have the lightbulb today. furthermore, the discovery of penicilin, the wonder antibiotic, was acutally accidentally discovered by a scientist. Not only the light bulb and the penicilin, there are thousands of examples of greatest scientific discoveries that were acutally made as a result of unintentional experiments. And,the word 'unclear' itself doesn't necessarily mean the result has to be negative. The results of an unpredictable expriments can be positive as wel. The chances even, for an unpredictable expreiment to be fruitful or not at the end. but, it these unpredictable endevours are not taken, then the fear of going into uncertainty mighty be shrouded but the posibility of getting something beneficial for mankind is mutilated.

however, there are some aspects of science where there is high chance that the results might be so catastrophic that might destroy mankind. government fundings in these fields should be regulated to make sure that humans, in search of knowledge and achievements, don't end up destroying themselves. For example, experiments with urenium, is seen with much skepticism around the world. because, even if , controlled experiments for solving global energy crisis is always good for mankind, any uncontrolled endevours might end up in great loss on human life. Catastrophy in fukuhima is a great example of this.

Lastly, I think, govenments should fund most researchs regardless of their unpredictability.