The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station concludes that they should restore the time devoted to local and weather news to its former state as they are losing money with the currently changed program-run-time. The conclusion was reached based on the complaints concerning the local and weather news and loss of advertising contracts from local businesses. This argument can be better evaluated if three specific evidences are presented.

First of all, the evidence regarding the spcific nature of the complaints concerning local and weather news is mandatory. The viewers might complain about many things concerning local and weather news. For example, they might really want to see more of weather and local news. In that case, the conclusion reached by the memorandum is quite strong. But, the complains may also state that the viewers don't even want to see the reduced local and weather news. They are so perturbed with local and weather news that they don't want any of it. In that case, the conclusion drawn in the memorandum is seriously undermined.

Furthermore, the reason behind the local businesses canceling advertisment contrats with the television station is needed to be stated. There could be a thousand reasons behind cancelling an advertising contract. For example, the businesses could be out of business themselves or they might have just reached the planned time period for advertisement and would've cancelled their advertising contract anyway.

Finally, the quality of the programs is what attracts the viewers. So, if the quality of national news is not good, like it doesn't actually cover all the recent incidents or lacks several segements like business, politics, technology etc or the segments are not rich enough, it is not going to attract many viewers, regardless of the run-time of local and weather news.

To conclude, it is evident that the argument as it is presented, is not based on substantial evidence. To be able to evaluate this argument the above mentioned evidences are must.