As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology is the ultimate friend for human being on earth, if used in a proper way. The prompt states that thinking ability of humans will be surely deteriorating as they keep on relying on the ever-developing technology. I mostly disagree with the statement for 2 reasons.

Firstly, it is the human being who develops the technology. So, obviously to develop the technology in the first-place people behind it had to do the thinking. Furthermore, to keep on developing the technology people working behind has to do all the programing for the technology to work in a certain way. For example, as calculators make everyday calculations easier, it might seem that calculator has a brain of itself to perform the calculations. Even if I recognize the internal programing of it as it's brain, that was done by the people who developed it. And, even for the common people other than the developers of the calculators, have to do the main part, thinking to use the calculator. Its machine might ease the job of summation, subtraction and all other calculations but it’s the user who has to decide what to calculate.

Secondly, technology has given humans to focus more on the important part/crucial part of thinking. Even in the case of simple calculator, one might argue, deciding what to calculate is far more important than how to calculate. This is far strongly illustrated if we consider any intricate job like technical designing. For example, while design software like AutoCAD, takes care of the 'how to draw' part, designers have much more time to decide on what to draw and critically decide on the technical aspects of the design.

However, technology might have enhanced the thinking capability of some people, but other vast majority of them who don't have to do the any sort of technical thinking, might lose their efficiency over even simple calculations, one might say, as they say, 'use it or lose it'. But there we have to rethink the very definition of thinking. "how to add, subtract" - is it as important thinking as deciding more challenging decisions of life? When we have technology to take care of the everyday mundane job- we have the time to focus more on life which loves to throw challenges one after another. So, letting the technology do its job is not necessarily taking away our ability to think in any way.

Technology is ever helping hand we could use to make our lives a bit easier. Using it, doesn't mean we're losing the thinking capability. Even if loose the capability to add we'll have more time to focus our thinking on more important issues of life. and, mundane things like being able to calculate might not actually regarded as thinking capability someday.