The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Does imposing a limit for amount of consumer –generated wastes received from each household will reduce the environmental problems caused by these wastes? As industrialization started growing, wastes produced by each household are also growing. Technology has developed, there are other ways to reduce the environmental problems caused by consumer –generated wastes. I disagree with solution provided by author in limiting the amount of waste received from each household. Let analyze the issue in detail.

First, restricting amount of waste may seemed a good solution by some critics. Technology has improved. There are so many countries implemented human-waste management to reduce the environmental problems. Some of the technologies that recycles ton of consumer produced wastes into energy. For example European Unions are using waste-to–energy management in order to convert waste to energy. The tons of wastes can be converted into energy in kilowatt, gas and bio –organic fertilizers.

Moreover, Wastes are bio-degradable and non-bio degradable. Non–bio degradable wastes are plastic, glass materials-wastes etc. Indeed they can be recycled and reused. For example, plastic materials can be recycled and reproduced. One of the way is to reduce use of plastic materials. Consequently environmental problems will be reduced.

Finally, restricting the amount will result in increase of waste on other areas such park, river areas, and so on. People will eventually start dumping the more consumer generated wastes in the parks, riverside areas, and wastelands during the night. This will result in causing more environmental problems to the cities than collecting whole consumer generated wastes. Indeed this will cost the local municipality to clean. Therefore The solution provided by author may not be better solution considering all possibilities .